Pinarayi Vijayan to take oath for Kerala’s Chief Minister’s office tomorrow

Pinarayi Vijayan to serve as Kerala's Chief Minister for the second consecutive time, will take the oath for the office on May 20. The swearing-in ceremony has been scheduled to take place outside at the Central Stadium, just a short distance from the State Secretariat's seat of power, and with Covid rules in effect, the maximum number of persons authorized to attend is 750.

Pinarayi Vijayan was chosen as the CPI (M) parliamentary party leader and Kerala Chief Minister by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) state committee on Tuesday.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) has nominated four ministers and a deputy speaker for the new LDF cabinet. K Rajan, P Prasad, J Chinchurani, and GR Anil has been chosen as CPI ministers in the new administration and Chittayam Gopakumar has been nominated for the position of Deputy Speaker. CPIM leader and Mr. Vijayan's son-in-law, P A Mohammad Riyas, has been selected to the new list. The new team also includes three women, Dr. R. Bindu, Chinchu Rani, and Veena George.

The CPI also proposed new faces as ministers, in accordance with the party's policy of not nominating any minister for two consecutive terms. CPI government has decided to have a 21 member cabinet. Kanam Rajendran, the party's state secretary, stated that the chief minister will disclose the ministers' portfolios.

The Communist Party of India (M)-led LDF has won and secured power in Kerala for the second consecutive time, capturing 99 seats out of 140 in the Assembly polls, compared to 41 for the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF). Notably, the BJP did not win a single seat.

by Ananya | Wed, May 19 - 01:37 PM

Related Posts

Namaste England actress Alankrita Sahai gets robbed in daylight at knifepoint

List of bollywood Celebrities roped in by NCB in alleged drug case

BJP MLA Ram Kadam reacts to Javed Akhtar comparing Taliban with RSS

PETA files FIR as horse dies during Mani Ratnam’s Tamil drama shoot

Celebs mourn passing away of Sidharth Shukla; From Rashami Desai to Raveena Tandon here’s what they posted