ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup schedule: Details revealed!

The ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup is all set to begin a couple of months. The competition is slated to be held in the UAE and Oman from October 17th. It was earlier scheduled to be held in Australia in 2020 but had to be moved due to the coronavirus pandemic.

ICC has now released the the two groups in which the teams have been divided. The groups which have been formed on the basis of team rankings as of 20 March 2021, see defending champions the West Indies England, Australia and South Africa in Group 1 of the Super 12s, with two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them. Group 2 includes India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the other two qualifiers from Round 1.

Eight teams will contest the first round including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia join Sri Lanka in Group A, whilst Oman, PNG and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B.

The who’s who of cricket have expressed their excitement for the upcoming tournament. BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and BCCI Secretary Jay Shah have expressed their delight over the tournament being held and wished all the countries good luck.

The ICC chief also expressed his gratitude to the UAE and Oman Cricket associations for taking up the challenge of organising the tournament whilst the pandemic.

Everyone is looking  forward to a great tournament with some amazing cricket!

by Arushi Agrawal | Sat, Jul 17 - 12:34 PM

Related Posts

Bhavina Patel wins India’s first medal at Tokyo Paralympics; PM Modi praises her efforts

Tokyo Olympics: Athlete Neeraj Chopra performed like a ‘True soldier’, added stars to the Indian flag

WWE Superstar John Cena hints at his retirement says,” My Body could tell me after this Extended stay”

Paying honour to Neeraj Chopra, AFI decides to name August 7th as ‘Javelin Throw Day’

Neeraj Chopra makes history in Tokyo Olympics, grabs first gold medal for India in Javelin Throw